Online Discussions

We pause the series. Please, listen to the podcasts linked below (those of the last events will be added here in the course of June and July 2021).

Events and Podcasts

Saturday, June 12, 2021
The Communist Road to Capitalism in China
with Ralf RUCKUS

Saturday, June 5, 2021
How China Escapted Shock Therapy. The Market Reform Debate
with Isabella WEBER | Listen to the podcast.

Saturday, May 15, 2021
Chinese Investments and Labor Struggles in Indonesia
with Alfian AL-AYUBBY + Y. Wasi Gede PURAKA | Listen to the podcast.

Saturday, April 17, 2021
Tech Workers and Rising Class Consciousness in China
with JS TAN | Listen to the podcast.

Saturday, April 3, 2021
China’s Engine of Environmental Collapse
with Richard SMITH | Listen to the podcast.

Saturday, March 20, 2021
Dispelling the Myth of African Worker Indolence. Labor Politics in Ethiopian-Chinese Encounters
with Miriam DRIESSEN | Listen to the podcast.

Saturday, March 6, 2021
Confronting COVID-19 Racism – Asian Diaspora Organizing & Transnational Solidarity
with Gigi MEI, Kimiko SUDA, Shan WINDSCRIPT, JM WONG | Listen to the podcast.

Saturday, February 20, 2021
Facing the Right in the Hong Kong Movement
with Promise LI | Listen to the podcast.

Saturday, February 6, 2021
Gender Awakening, Care Crisis, and ‘Made-in-China’-Feminism
with Yige DONG | Listen to the podcast.

Saturday, January 23, 2021
Taiwan’s Left in the Era of Chinese-American Rivalry
with Brian HIOE |  Listen to the podcast.

Saturday, January 9, 2021
Terror Capitalism. The Enclosure of Uyghurs in Northwest China (Xinjiang)
with Darren BYLER | Listen to the podcast.

Saturday, September 26, 2020
Recent Labor Unrest and Organizing in China
with Eli FRIEDMAN and activists from China

Saturday, September 19, 2020
Feminism and Queer Activism in China
with DONG Yige and WEI Tingting

Saturday, September 12, 2020
The Hong Kong Protest Movement
with activists from Hong Kong

Saturday, September 5, 2020
Clash of Capitalisms? EU-China Relations at a Crossroads
with Stefan SCHMALZ and Jenny SIMON